top of page

Jun 20, 2022

How To Gut A Fish longlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize

Sheila Armstrong’s

Sheila Armstrong’s How To Gut A Fish, published by Bloomsbury to rave reviews in February, has been longlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize.

NANA .jpg

The Edge Hill Short Story Prize is awarded annually by Edge Hill University for excellence in a published single authored short story collection.

To recognise the acceleration of what was once an overlooked art form, Professor Ailsa Cox (the world’s only Professor of Short Fiction) founded the Edge Hill Short Story Prize in 2006, highlighting the intricate craftsmanship of short story writing. The Prize remains unique as the only annually presented award that recognises excellence in a published, single-authored collection of short stories in the UK and Ireland.

Previous years’ winners have been Colm Tóibín, Claire Keegan, Chris Beckett, Jeremy Dyson, Graham Mort, Sarah Hall, John Burnside, Kirsty Gunn, Jessie Greengrass, Daisy Johnson, Tessa Hadley, David Szalay, Shelley Day and Kevin Barry.

bottom of page