top of page

Apr 26, 2024

Falling Animals shortlisted for the 2024 RSL Ondaatje Prize

Sheila Armstrong’s

Sheila Armstrong’s debut novel, Falling Animals, about an unidentified man, as told by those who crossed paths with him on the last day of his life has been shortlisted for the 2024 RSL Ondaatje Prize

NANA .jpg

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the prize, which was founded in 2004 by the Royal Society of Literature (RLS) to celebrate outstanding works of fiction, non-fiction or poetry that best evoke the spirit of a place.

The 2024 award is judged by writers Francis Spufford, Jan Carson and Xiaolu Guo, who whittled down 194 entries to a shortlist of six – featuring novels, poetry and non-fiction, from both bigger publishers and independents.

Falling Animals was described by judge Xiaolu Guo “a truly impressive debut from a storyteller who knows how to control the rhythm and poetry of her narrative”.

The winner of the £10,000 award will be announced on 14th May at Two Temple Place in London.

bottom of page