Michelle Gallen

NANA .jpg

Michelle Gallen

Shortlisted For the Costa First Novel award, nominated for the Comedy Women in Print 2020 award and also for the Sunday Independent Newcomer Of The Year 2020

Michelle Gallen was born in Northern Ireland in the mid-70s.

Her first novel Big Girl, Small Town, was published by John Murray in the UK and Ireland (Spring 2020) and by Algonquin in the US on the 1st December.

It was nominated for the Comedy Women in Print 2020 award and also for the Sunday Independent Newcomer Of The Year 2020 at the An Post Irish Book Awards and has been optioned by Lookout Point to be adapted for TV by a team including Kathy Burke.
Praise For Big Girl, Small Town

 “An inventively foulmouthed gem of a novel… with such deadpan wit that sentimentality doesn’t stand a chance… Majella, our clear-eyed protagonist, is far more than a gifted wisecracker and ‘Big Girl, Small Town’ a more shrewd depiction of provincial life than its flippant tone might suggest… a novel that is, above all, an intimate portrait of a peculiar—and peculiarly resilient—woman who is fated to notice everything and forget nothing. With her specifically heightened awareness, Majella is a welcome addition to the diverse family of protagonists that includes young Christopher Boone in Mark Haddon’s ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,’ Hesketh Lock in Liz Jensen’s ‘The Uninvited’ and Keiko in Sayaka Murata’s ‘Convenience Store Woman,’ all of whom perceive reality through a similar lens… [I]n this oddly affecting novel of everyday defeats, [Majella’s] triumph is more thrilling than any army’s victory.” 

Wall Street Journal

‘A thrillingly fresh, provocative and touching voice’, 

Marian Keyes

‘Milkman meets Derry Girls. A cracking read’, 

Sinead Moriarty

‘Bawdy yet beautiful, full of everyday tragedy, absurdity and truth. I grew extraordinarily attached to Majella’, 

Sara Baume

‘What a voice: I felt as though I knew Majella intimately by the end . . . Big Girl, Small Town is a darkly hilarious novel about small-town life, which manages to be wildly entertaining despite being mostly set in a chip shop - a fine place in which to loiter with such a filthy, funny, clever companion’, 

Guardian

‘..sensational debut.. Gallen’s effortless immersion into a gritty, endlessly bittersweet world packs a dizzying punch. ‘ 

Publishers Weekly

‘It's the humour, dry and gritty, that sets Big Girl, Small Town apart . . . to think that this is Michelle Gallen's debut is astonishing, as Majella's narration is bold and assured . . . evocative, caustic and compelling’, 

Sunday Business Post

‘Northern Ireland is currently producing more exceptional writers per square inch than possibly anywhere else . . . Michelle Gallen will most certainly earn her place in the honours list. Big Girl, Small Town is even funnier than Derry Girls, while being just as fraught as Anna Burns's Booker Prize winner’, 

Sunday Independent

‘A winning evocation of a small Irish community whose people burst from its pages. Engaging and satisfying’, 

Daily Mail

‘Superb’,

Irish Examiner

‘Captivating . . . a confident debut with a very memorable protagonist in Majella’,

Irish Times

‘Darkly funny’, 

Mail on Sunday

[A] darkly comic novel… Majella is a nuanced and complicated heroine… Infused with local diction, inflection, and slang, her voice envelops readers in the sounds of small-town Ireland. Fans of Sara Baume's novels and the Irish TV series Derry Girls will adore this complex, clever, and deeply moving debut novel.”

Booklist (Starred Review)

“An irreverent portrait of small-town Northern Ireland that is both bleakly and uproariously funny.”

Kirkus Reviews

“Bawdy and bold, Big Girl, Small Town may focus on everyday activities, but its narrative voice, captivating protagonist and textured setting will keep readers eager to know what its eccentric cast of characters will do next… A pitch-perfect cynical dark comedy with an unexpected heart, Big Girl, Small Town will appeal to those looking for a grown-up Derry Girls with a literary edge.” 

Shelf Awareness

“A fiercely funny coming of age story… Majella O’Neill is a hilarious commentator on her mundane life, and the setting has drawn comparisons to Derry Girls, but this novel is a different beast: smarter, sadder, deeper, but even more charming and wildly funny.” “Amazon’s Best Books of December,” 

Amazon Book Review

“Majella is a compelling character caught in a fascinating slice of time, and her journey is exquisitely rendered. ..With echoes of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine crossed with the 1990s-set British sitcom Derry Girls, this debut is recommended for fans of Ottessa Moshfegh, Emma Donoghue, and Sally Rooney.— Library Journal (starred review)

Rights Sold

John Murray (UK & Commonwealth), Algonquin (USA)